I felt impressed to search out this family. For some reason or another I thought I need to do more research on Escolástica, or that I know more about her than I realize I do. I began by searching for this family in the Arquivo Regional da Madeira’s baptism database.

Using the advanced search function I searched for Pedro as the father and Escolástica as the mother. This is the search results:

Son: Manuel
Father: Pedro Lomelino de Vasconcelos
Mother: Escolástica Drumond
Parish: Porto Santo
Date: 15-03-1815
Book: 982
Leaf: 46
VIEW

Son: António
Father: Pedro Melim de Vasconcelos
Mother: Escolástica Drumond
Parish: Porto Santo
Date: 16-05-1819
Book: 983
Leaf: 81
VIEW

Son: António
Father: Pedro de Melim de Vasconcelos
Mother: Escolástica Drumond
Parish: Porto Santo
Date: 24-08-1823
Book: 984
Leaf: 63
VIEW

Son: Felisberto
Father: Pedro de Vasconcelos
Mother: Escolástica Drumond
Parish: Porto Santo
Date: 11-12-1830
Book: 986
Leaf: 77
VIEW

Son: João
Father: Pedro de Melim e Vasconcelos
Mother: Escolástica Drumond*
Parish: Porto Santo
Date: 21-03-1826
Book: 985
Leaf: 69 v.º
VIEW

Son: José
Father: Pedro de Melim de Vasconcelos
Mother: Escolástica Drumond*
Parish: Porto Santo
Date: 14-06-1833
Book: 986
Leaf: 131 v.º
VIEW

Son: Laurentino
Father: Pedro de Melim de Vasconcelos
Mother: Escolástica Drumond
Parish: Porto Santo
Date: 03-03-1835
Book: 987
Leaf: 38
VIEW

I am not sure if all these children fit in this family. According to the ARM’s Marriage Database, Pedro de Melim & Escolástica were married in 1815. The surnames have some differences. The first child is born in March which is possible. The marriage record for the search (Pedro as the husband and Escolástica as the wife) gives these results:

Husband: Pedro de Melim de Vasconcelos
Wife: Escolástica da Conceição
Parish: Porto Santo
Year: 1815
Book: 994
Leaf: 131

I have not included these children into my database yet. I will need to get the records from the FHL Microfilm and verify the database’s hits first.

