Tags

, , , , , ,

I was setting out to try to do some research for Alfred Soares.  He is the adopted son of José and Clara Soares.  I know he was born in Wailuku on 12/8/18 from Ancestry.com’s California Passenger and Crew Lists, 1893-1957.  From other entries the birth date is Dec 8th 1918.  He was on the SS SACHEM with the rest of the Soares Family in 1919.  He is also on the 1920 Census in Oakland, California.  Well Ancestry’s Hints had a hit in the Social Security Death Index for an Alfred Soares.  Here’s what their record states:

Name: Alfred Soares
SSN: 568-38-1207
Last Residence: 67204  Wichita, Sedgwick, Kansas, United States of America
Born: 8 Dec 1918
Died: Apr 1986
State (Year) SSN issued: California (Before 1951)

It’s interesting to get an exact match on the birth date.  The Social Security Number was issued in California, which is plausible.  The last residence in Witchita Kansas is news to me.  It might be correct.  I should look for an obituary to see if this is really my Alfred Soares.  If it is I have his Social and might be able to use that to get information about his adopted mother.