So I decided to try to find the obituary.  It seems like the Wichita’s newspaper is the Eagle.  After a quick Google search for the Wichita Eagle Archives I found ObitsArchive.com.  I searched using Alfred Soares as the name of the deceased and April 1986 as the publication date.  There was only one hit for an Alfred J. Soares published in The Wichita Eagle (KS) – April 30, 1986. Hmmmmm.  Then I find out you need an account.  $2.95 for the obituary is tempting, but I think I’m going to check out the library to see if they have an account.   It is a newsbank service.

I have checked our library and they do not have a subscription to that service.  I do see that the Wichita Public Library does.  I will be emailing their Genealogy and Local History reference librarian to see if they will do the look-up for me latter today.  It is to be so close though.  That $2.95 is really tempting!

