Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I gave in and paid the $3.00 to further my research. Here’s what the obituary had to say:

Wichita Eagle, The (KS) – April 30, 1986

Deceased Name: ALFRED J. SOARES
ALFRED J. SOARES, 67, of 2051 S. Kansas, former Beech Aircraft Corp. employee, died Monday, April 28, 1986. Service 3 p.m. Thursday, Lakeview Cemetery. Cochran Mortuary.

Wichita Eagle, The (KS)
Date: April 30, 1986
Edition: CITY EDITION
Page: 4D
Record Number: 8601180700
Copyright (c) 1986 The Wichita Eagle

It didn’t mention anything about the family which was disappointing but it did have some good information. So the Alfred Soares featured in this obituary was 67 when he died. This fits with my Alfred Soares. I have that he was born on December 8th 1918. He would have been 67 on April 28th 1986. So I have not found any evidence to rule this out as a possibility. I am not certain that this is him, because there is a whole range of dates (one years worth in fact) that could work.

I searched USGenWeb and Find a Grave to see if by some chance there was an entry for Alfred, and there was not. I am going to have to do further research before I make a conclusion on these facts.

Updated 7 April 2008 – The Wichita Public Library emailed me the above information later today.  I placed a research request to the reference librarian and she responded.  I wish I would have waited a few more days.