I have decided to get back on the horse and do some family history research.  I have done quite a bit of research in the past using the Arquivo Regional da Madeira’s marriage database.  This database is extracted information of parish records.  The family history library in Salt Lake City has a microfilm of these parish records, and I have requested the film be sent to my local family history center.

Why did I chose this film?  I am hoping to have a Paulo da Silva type experience with my other ancestors.  There is no substitute for researching primary records!

I am also fortunate that the film that I requested should have 7 marriages.  Odds are pretty good that I will be able to do some further research based on the information I will glean from the records.  I intend to write a post describing what I found and lay out a research plan going forward.

